

THE STATES assembled on Thursday 10th September 2009, at 09.30 a.m. under the Presidency of the Bailiff, Michael Cameron St. John Birt Esquire.

All members were present at roll call with the exception of –

Senator Philip Francis Cyril Ozouf – en défaut (défaut raised at 9.45 a.m.) Connétable Kenneth Priaulx Vibert of St. Ouen - en défaut Connétable Alan Simon Crowcroft of St. Helier – en défaut (défaut raised at 10.17 a.m.) Connétable Peter Frederick Maurice Hanning of St. Saviour – ill Deputy Geoffrey Peter Southern of St. Helier – en défaut Deputy Paul Vincent Francis Le Claire of St. Helier - ill

Notification of lodged propositions

Referendum: position of the Connétables in the States.

Lodged: 10th September 2009. Deputy M. Tadier of St. Brelade. P.146/2009.

Withdrawal of lodged propositions

THE STATES noted that, in accordance with Standing Order 34(1), the proposer of the following proposition lodged "au Greffe" had informed the Greffier of the States that it had been withdrawn –

Rôle of the unelected members of the States: review – appointment of chairman and members.

P.118/2009.

Lodged: 23rd July 2009. Deputy of St. Martin.

Composition and election of the States: single election day each year P.109/2009

THE STATES commenced consideration of a proposition of Deputy John Alexander Nicholas Le Fondré of St. Lawrence and, following discussion, rejected a proposition of Senator James Leslie Perchard that, in accordance with the provisions of Standing Order 84, the debate be closed.

Members present voted as follows –

POUR: 19 CONTRE: 25 ABSTAIN: 0

Senator T.A. Le Sueur Senator S. Syvret Senator P.F.C. Ozouf Senator P.F. Routier

> 403 Price code: B

Senator T.J. Le Main Senator A. Breckon

Senator B.E. Shenton

Senator J.L. Perchard

Senator B.I. Le Marquand

Connétable of St. Lawrence

Connétable of St. Mary

Deputy R.C. Duhamel (S)

Connétable of Trinity

Deputy of St. Martin

Connétable of Grouville Deputy R.G. Le Hérissier (S)

Connétable of St. Brelade
Connétable of St. Martin
Connétable of St. John
Connétable of St. Clement
Deputy J.B. Fox (H)
Deputy J.A. Martin (H)
Deputy of St. Ouen
Deputy of Grouville

Connétable of St. Peter

Deputy J.A.N. Le Fondré (L)

Deputy S.S.P.A. Power (B)

Deputy J.A. Hilton (H)

Deputy S. Pitman (H)

Deputy S. Pitman (H)

Deputy I.J. Gorst (C)

Deputy K.C. Lewis (S)

Deputy A.T. Dupré (C)

Deputy M. Tadier (B)

Deputy A.E. Jeune (B)

Deputy of St. Mary
Deputy T.M. Pitman (H)
Deputy E.J. Noel (L)
Deputy T.A. Vallois (S)
Deputy A.K.F. Green (H)
Deputy J.M. Maçon (S)

THE STATES, having resumed consideration of the proposition of Deputy John Alexander Nicholas Le Fondré of St. Lawrence –

- (a) agreed that, notwithstanding any other reforms relating to the actual composition of the elected membership of the States that could be agreed by the States, all members of the States standing for election in any one year should, with effect from 2011, be elected on one single election day in that year, with the exception of any casual vacancies arising that needed to be filled through a by-election;
- (b) charged the Privileges and Procedures Committee to bring forward for approval the necessary legislation to give effect to the proposal.

Deputy of St. Mary

Members present voted as follows –

POUR: 47 CONTRE: 0 ABSTAIN: 1

Senator T.A. Le Sueur

Senator 1.A. Le Sueur

Senator P.F. Routier

Senator S. Syvret

Senator P.F.C. Ozouf

Senator T.J. Le Main

Senator B.E. Shenton

Senator F.E. Cohen

Senator J.L. Perchard

Senator A. Breckon

Senator S.C. Ferguson

Senator A.J.D. Maclean

Senator B.I. Le Marquand

Connétable of St. Helier

Connétable of Trinity

Connétable of Grouville

Connétable of St. Brelade

Connétable of St. Martin

Connétable of St. John

Connétable of St. Clement

Connétable of St. Peter

Connétable of St. Lawrence

Connétable of St. Mary

Deputy R.C. Duhamel (S)

Deputy of St. Martin

Deputy R.G. Le Hérissier (S)

Deputy J.B. Fox (H)

Deputy J.A. Martin (H)

Deputy of St. Ouen

Deputy of Grouville

Deputy of St. Peter

Deputy J.A. Hilton (H)

Deputy J.A.N. Le Fondré (L)

Deputy of Trinity

Deputy S.S.P.A. Power (B)

Deputy S. Pitman (H)

Deputy K.C. Lewis (S)

Deputy I.J. Gorst (C)

Deputy of St. John

Deputy M. Tadier (B)

Deputy A.E. Jeune (B)

Deputy T.M. Pitman (H)

Deputy A.T. Dupré (C)

Deputy E.J. Noel (L)

Deputy T.A. Vallois (S)

Deputy A.K.F. Green (H)

Deputy D. De Sousa (H)

Deputy J.M. Maçon (S)

Criminal Injuries Compensation Scheme: revised Scheme P.113/2009

THE STATES, adopting a proposition of the Minister for Home Affairs, agreed to refer to their Act dated 4th December 1990 in which they agreed to establish a scheme to provide compensation for victims of crimes of violence to replace the Scheme set out in the Act of the States dated 12th May 1970; and approved the revised Criminal Injuries Compensation Scheme as set out in the attached Appendix to the Report of the Minister for Home Affairs dated 8th July 2009.

Members present voted as follows –

POUR: 35 CONTRE: 8 ABSTAIN: 0

Senator T.A. Le Sueur

Senator P.F.C. Ozouf

Senator T.J. Le Main

Senator B.E. Shenton

Connétable of St. Martin

Deputy J.A. Martin (H)

Deputy S. Pitman (H)

Deputy M. Tadier (B)

Senator F.E. Cohen

Senator J.L. Perchard

Senator A. Breckon

Senator S.C. Ferguson

Senator A.J.D. Maclean

Senator B.I. Le Marquand

Connétable of St. Helier

Connétable of Trinity

Connétable of Grouville

Connétable of St. Brelade

Connétable of St. John

Connétable of St. Peter

Connétable of St. Lawrence

Connétable of St. Mary

Deputy R.C. Duhamel (S)

Deputy of St. Martin

Deputy R.G. Le Hérissier (S)

Deputy J.B. Fox (H)

Deputy of St. Ouen

Deputy of Grouville

Deputy J.A. Hilton (H)

Deputy J.A.N. Le Fondré (L)

Deputy S.S.P.A. Power (B)

Deputy K.C. Lewis (S)

Deputy I.J. Gorst (C)

Deputy of St. John

Deputy A.E. Jeune (B)

Deputy A.T. Dupré (C)

Deputy E.J. Noel (L)

Deputy T.A. Vallois (S)

Deputy J.M. Macon (S)

Deputy of St. Mary

Deputy T.M. Pitman (H)

Deputy A.K.F. Green (H)

Deputy D. De Sousa (H)

Police Act 1997: extension of Part V to Jersey by Order in Council P.121/2009

THE STATES, adopting a proposition of the Chief Minister, agreed to signify, pursuant to Article 31(1)(b) of the States of Jersey Law 2005, that they agreed that a request be made to the Privy Council for the making of an Order in Council that would extend to Jersey, with appropriate modifications and adaptations, the provisions of Part V of the Police Act 1997 as summarised in the report of the Chief Minister dated 29th July 2009.

Members present voted as follows –

POUR: 45 CONTRE: 0 ABSTAIN: 0

Senator T.A. Le Sueur

Senator P.F. Routier

Senator P.F.C. Ozouf

Senator T.J. Le Main

Senator F.E. Cohen

Senator J.L. Perchard

Senator A. Breckon

Senator S.C. Ferguson

Senator A.J.D. Maclean

Senator B.I. Le Marquand

Connétable of St. Helier

Connétable of Trinity

Connétable of Grouville

Connétable of St. Brelade

Connétable of St. Martin

Connétable of St. John

Connétable of St. Clement

Connétable of St. Peter

Connétable of St. Lawrence

Connétable of St. Mary

Deputy R.C. Duhamel (S)

Deputy of St. Martin

Deputy R.G. Le Hérissier (S)

Deputy J.B. Fox (H)

Deputy J.A. Martin (H)

Deputy of St. Ouen

Deputy of Grouville

Deputy J.A. Hilton (H)

Deputy J.A.N. Le Fondré (L)

Deputy of Trinity

Deputy S.S.P.A. Power (B)

Deputy S. Pitman (H)

Deputy K.C. Lewis (S)

Deputy I.J. Gorst (C)

Deputy of St. John

Deputy M. Tadier (B)

Deputy A.E. Jeune (B)

Deputy of St. Mary

Deputy T.M. Pitman (H)

Deputy A.T. Dupré (C)

Deputy E.J. Noel (L)

Deputy T.A. Vallois (S)

Deputy A.K.F. Green (H)

Deputy D. De Sousa (H)

Deputy J.M. Maçon (S)

Adjournment

THE STATES adjourned, having agreed to reconvene on Friday 11th September 2009 to consider the outstanding items of public business.

THE STATES rose at 12.56 p.m.

M.N. DE LA HAYE

Greffier of the States